Google Photos: Users Should Remove Photos from Backup. On the one year anniversary of Google Photos, it has become an essential part of many of our lives. We record our lives via the photos and videos on our phones, and they are automatically archived in the cloud. They are accessible from any device anywhere, and we will never lose them again. But, now, if you delete a photo from your phone, Google Photos will prompt you to delete it from the cloud also. You can now sync deleted photos, so that you always have the same photos everywhere. So, organize your life. Delete what doesn't work, and keep what does.